Ripple

Have you ever had one of those moments where you are super-aware of the impact that your own decisions have on those around you? You see your children performing actions or saying things that you know they got from you. Maybe something is being introduced at your job that you discovered. Regardless, this is your imprint on their lives. Something you did made a difference to someone else.

The past couple of days, I have been dwelling on that idea. What am I doing with my time that is making a lasting impression? How are my decisions affecting those who are around me? And, are my decisions benefiting those around me or tearing them down?

When Elisa and I decided to accept this new job in Virginia, I did not really put much thought into this. For me, this was a move for my family and a good one at that. I guess, in my mind, we would move on to Virginia and everyone else would just continue on with their lives much like they did before we arrived in Carmi. Two weeks have passed since we made that decision and I am seeing more and more that this is not the case.

I was reading a blog entry on www.bakadesuyo.com earlier this morning titled “The 4 Rituals That Will Make You An Expert At Anything“. In this blog, Yale professor Nicholas Christakis was quoted as saying,

“It’s very important for people to understand that when they make a positive change in their lives it doesn’t just affect them. It affects everyone they know and many of the people that those people know and many of the people that those people in turn know. If you make a positive change in your life it actually ripples through the social fabric and comes to benefit many other people. This recognition that we are all connected and that in our connectedness we affect each other’s lives I think is a very fundamental and moving observation of our humanity.”

After reading this quote, I sat for a bit and reflected back on a conversation that my wife and I had a few nights ago. We were discussing the new move and how eager I was to start a new job and see a new place. I have turned my mind so much towards this move that I have not been considering those who we will be leaving.

To those in Virginia who I have not yet met, I am excited and anticipate the relationships that are waiting to be developed between you and my family. However, I owe a huge apology to those who I am seemingly eager to leave behind. I am sorry if I have not been so quick to recognize what I am leaving behind as much as what I am moving towards. There is much love in my heart for many people here. Christakis reminds me that it is the connections that I already have, not the ones to come, who have made me who I am and for that I thank you all.


4 thoughts on “Ripple

  1. Ripples can be great. They can also be not so great. Luckily, in most of our lives, if we think and pray and ask for Guidance, the good ripples outweigh the bad. And we serve a God who can use bad ripples and make them into blessings for His purpose. I have been thinking a lot about some ripples from the last few months that have occurred, and from 1 chain of events there have been both good and bad ripples. May all your ripples from the move be positive for you and your family, my friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

