What are you afraid of?

What are you afraid of?

That is a question that I have heard many times over the course of the last six years. It is not a question that is asked of me frequently but one that I hear at work a lot. I work at a children’s home for teens with behavioral issues. Before we even accept a child into our program, we have an interview with the family in our home.

The intake therapist who conducts the interview always asks that question to the prospective resident. What are your fears?

Some of the boys we interview will say that they are afraid of spiders, or snakes, or even death. Many of them, if they’re really honest, might even list a fear or rejection or that their parents will not stay together, etc….

I have asked myself that question many times over the years that I have been here. What am I afraid of? I cannot really relate with many of the fears that these boys have. I am not really afraid of anything that people might normally fear. I am not even really afraid of death which is what many people struggle with.

In order to get a better idea of what kinds of things many adults find themselves afraid of, I started reading up on phobias. I found an interesting article on fears and phobias that lists what they believe to be the top 100 things that people fear. Some of them are common fears such as the fear of spiders or heights. Many people are afraid of dogs as well.

I read down through this list but could not honestly identify anything there that I was afraid of either.

Then, one day it hit me. I heard someone talking about how anxious they feel when they are in water but cannot see their feet. You know, like swimming in a pond. And, I knew that was me. I have this irrational anxiety that comes over me when I am swimming in water but cannot see what is below me.

The last time this happened was in the creek behind my house. The water was way up due to flooding and the boys wanted to swim in an area of the creek that was much deeper than normal. There was a log that went out over the creek that everyone was jumping off of into the water. I walked out across the log and jumped into the water.

I remember immediately being filled with anxiety over what might be below me in the water. I knew it was irrational to feel this way but there was a panic in my mind that compelled me to immediately get out of the water. As far as I remember, that was the last time I was in merky water.

Sounds silly doesn’t it.

I would agree. It does seem silly but at the same time, I am in no hurry to get back in the creek again…. ever….

So, how about you? What is your biggest fear?

Comment below and let me know.

 


2 thoughts on “What are you afraid of?

Leave a Reply

