Have a good night…. if you can.

My sister and their husband just had a baby a few weeks ago. He is not their first child so there are no new parent issues or anything like that (I remember being terrified with my first child that I would find some way to kill her or something). He also seems to be the perfect child in regards to the small amount of fussing that comes out of him for being new to this world.

However, last night, my sister posted on facebook about the lack of sleep that she had received, partly due to Quinn being awake during the night. I also got fairly inconsistent sleep last night due to my four year old son finding his way into our bed last night as well.

Now, I don’t know about my sister, but I have felt cranky and sore all day and I know that it’s because I did not sleep well last night. I also suspect that she and I are not the only people that routinely find ourselves lacking in the amount of sleep that we should be receiving in order to function well throughout the day.

I know that, at least in my case, it is not just my son that keeps me from getting a good night’s sleep. I have sleep apnea as well and have a C-PAP that I am supposed to wear every night to keep my air moving. For some people, conditions like resless leg syndrome will keep them awake. For many of us, it is our habits that cause us to lose sleep. While our health issues are treatable, our habits have to be changed.

I found this infographic on visual.ly that unpacks 11 habits that succesful people employ when it comes to a good night’s sleep. If you are, like me, struggling to get that sleep at night, check it out. Maybe there is a habit here that you can add to your life that will improve your sleeping habits.


Leave a Reply

