Catching up…..

So, I have been incredibly inconsistent with my posting for the past few weeks and I wanted to apologize to anyone who might actually be interested in how frequently I post on here.

Our work schedule has been fairly hectic and irregular over the past two weeks as we are shuffling our days on and off with another couple to get them some time away for a wedding. Something is going on with my laptop that is causing it to not communicate well with our Wi-Fi so I am relegated to only posting from the office computer. When I am on duty, this is not much of a problem. However, I had the last seven days off so…. no posting on the old blog took place.

However, I got the opportunity to do a handful of incredibly blog-worthy things this past week that I want to share over the next few days. The first of which was my family’s trip to Peaks of Otter up in Bedford, Virginia. Oh my gosh. Such a good time. 

pocover

A good friend of mine from Carmi (Adam Koop) had told me about this place before I moved out here and said that I should go. Adam went to college out here at Liberty University and said that this place should be on everyone’s list of places to see. My boss here at Patrick Henry also said that this place was amazing so we decided that we had better check it out.

Needless to say, it is definately on my list of places to go and see again in more detail.

Here are some pictures from our trip.

 

We had our kids with us so we did not attempt any of the longer or more difficult hikes. We chose the Elk Run Trail which runs about a mile long loop directly behind the Visitor’s Center. This hike took us about 30 minutes or so to complete as we stopped quite a bit to take pictures and check out neat things.

After we finished up this trail, we went across the road to the lodge which sits on Abbott Lake. There was an easy trail there as well so we hiked it out as well.

There is a trail that is quite a bit longer and more difficult that Elisa and I have decided to go back and tackle without the kids sometime. However, for this day, we were satisfied.

So, for any of you who are considering a vacation along the Blue Ridge Parkway and need a few places to stop for pictures or even a challenge, this is definately one of those places.

Thanks for giving this a read. Hopefully it was interesting enough to keep your attention. Go on ahead and leave me a comment or a like and don’t forget to share this on your facebook page.

 


Leave a Reply

