Coming Home…

As all of you know, a little less than two months ago, my family and I packed up and took off for Virginia to start a new job as house parents at Patrick Henry Family Services. It has been a stressful and equally blessed six weeks since we arrived and the school year is officially wound down. Today was the last day of school for my residents. We have our annual awards ceremony tomorrow and then all of the boys go home for a two week break.

That means that we are on a two week break as well. This is going to give us an opportunity to head back to Illinois for a couple of weeks to catch up and visit with friends and family. Good times.

We will be getting on the road on Sunday, June 5th and driving until we hit Lexington, KY. We will stay the night there and relax. Probably find someplace to grab a bite to eat and then head to our motel for a dip in the pool.

Monday morning, we will be back on the road until we hit Fouriscant, MO to stay at Elisa’s sisters house. From June 7th until the morning of June 16th, we will be in Missouri or Illinois visiting family and friends. On the 16th, we will get back on the road and head back to Virginia.

It’s going to be nice to get back to Illinois and see everyone. Virginia is great. I feel like we are finally starting to settle in to a routine here and there is so much to do. However, I miss my mom. I need to see her and hug on her.

13131666_10207947523783218_5612481911011391784_o

I miss my friends in Carmi. I miss my conversations with Scott Kiser. I haven’t really found my people in Virginia yet. The people here are awesome, especially the ones that I work with. The closeness just hasn’t developed yet.

If you’ve ever moved long distance before, you know what I am talking about. Traveling is fun and seeing new places is exciting but it’s always nice to get to come home.

 

Alright, there it is. Prepare yourself Illinois, we are on our way in three more days.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Coming Home…

  1. Pingback: 50 Posts | This Strange Life

  2. Pingback: 200 Posts | This Strange Life

  3. Pingback: Thoughts on family | This Strange Life

  4. Pingback: The Rainy Day Blues | This Strange Life

Leave a Reply

