An empty house is a quiet house

Okay. I will preface this post with a description of my job for those of you who do not know much about what I do.

For the past 6+ years, my wife Elisa and I have worked in a group home setting taking care of teenage boys. It is similar to foster care except we work for an agency that directs us in the care that we provide. We started out doing this work for Baptist Children’s Home and Family Services in Carmi, IL. However, in April, we moved to Virginia to work for Patrick Henry Family Services

When we are at full capacity, we can house eight boys. Now, Elisa and I have two children of our own on top of that. In six years of work, it has been rare for us to be at full capacity but it is not out of the ordinary to have five to six boys in the house as well as our own children. Needless to say, privacy and quiet moments are about as rare as me spotting a bear in Virginia (inside joke, not everyone will understand).

That brings me to the point of this post.

In about an hour and a half, two of the boys that are currently in my care will be taking off for church camp and will be gone until Friday evening. That leaves me with one resident and two children of my own. The three of them will be going to Bible School at Childrey Baptist Church around six o’clock every night this week as well.

For two and a half to three hours, every night this week, there will be nobody in the house except for Elisa and I. What will we do with ourselves?

Maybe naps will happen. Maybe a date night could occur.Who knows? All I know for certain is that an empty house is a quiet house.

Woot! Woot! Woot!

Comment….Like…..Share with five people…..

 

One thought on “An empty house is a quiet house

Leave a Reply

