It’s okay to be unhappy sometimes

Anyone out there have trouble with motivating yourself to feel happy at times? You ever see someone who is just constantly bubbly and wonder what kind of drugs they are taking? If so, you are not alone, my friend. 

I watched this video earlier today and thought I should share it. I think it will hit home with quite a few of us. Happiness is great but it should never be relied on. As is the case with all of our emotions, being happy depends upon so many outside factors. It is simply impossible to be happy every day and for some people, happiness is something that seems incredibly far away. We live in a society that expects happiness but there are many days that we simply cannot produce it.

13886305_10208696842555719_6643007325962452608_n

Susan David is the author of Emotional Agility: Get Unstuck, Embrace Change, and Thrive in Work and Life. She tells us that happiness should not even be the goal for most people. Instead, she tells us to build our lives up around the things that we value most and we should see happiness spring up from that.

There are some days that I simply smile and fake it. It is easy enough to put on a show for people. I am not throwing a pity party for myself or anything. I just understand that on those days, it is highly unlikely that I will feel happy about anything. But, that is okay. I understand that how I feel is not a reflection of how I am. So, I put myself into things that I love.

If you are unhappy today, that is okay.

Find something that you find value in and invest time into it.

Tomorrow will be a brand new day.

But hey, if you are reading this and you have similar experiences, I would love to hear them.

Comment below…

Then, while you are at it, like and share me with a friend.

3 thoughts on “It’s okay to be unhappy sometimes

  1. Pingback: How do we deal with grief? | This Strange Life

  2. Pingback: Stop trying to be their friend | This Strange Life

  3. Pingback: Pity Party | This Strange Life

Leave a Reply

