College is not that easy…

Okay, so I finished up my Bachelor’s work shortly after arriving here in Virginia and rejoiced as I felt that my college career had finally come to a close. At the age of 40, I was well past the age when most people are writing term papers (at least traditional students) and I was ready to move on into whatever career choices that degree would allow for. 

However, I found that degree to be just shy of what I ultimately would love to spend my remaining years (I make it sound like I will die soon) doing. After reading through the Briggs-Meyers Type Indicator documents, I came to realize that my personality type (ENTJ) suggested administration/leadership as an ideal fit for a career.

A lightbulb immediately lit up in my brain but was just as quickly stopped with a thought.

“You don’t have that kind of education, son.”

So, here I am, back to school.

I am about 11 weeks into my MBA and I have to say, “THIS STUFF IS HARD!” I just finished a test in my Organizational Behavior class. It was a 40 question, open book test with an essay question at the end. We had 70 minutes to complete the test. I had to take the entire 70 minutes to go through the content of a book that I read word for word over the past three weeks and I’m pretty sure that i barely passed the exam.

OUCH!

I met with a friend last week for some encouragement in regards to work progression and my education. She was very familiar with all the coursework and made the statement that, “You know, you don’t actually have to read all of the content of the books.” I know what she was saying. In my undergraduate work, I did a lot of skimming and I did just fine. I don’t think that approach is going to work if I use it now.

Long story short, over the next 13 months, if you see me around, I will probably have my nose buried in a book.

Alright, you know the drill…..

There is a comment section below. Let me know what you think. What was your Graduate work like?

Follow and Share, it is a command not a suggestion….

PS: Here is a fun video of some people I used to work with back in Illinois

5 thoughts on “College is not that easy…

Leave a Reply

