Those 25 covers….

First off, I am a huge fan of music. Now, not just one genre of music but music in general. I can listen to country (sometimes). I can listen to rap. Sometimes I will even get Mozart going on youtube and relax to it. I also love incredibly hard rock. I love when the lead singer takes the mic and just screams into it. Just beneath the surface of me is this guy who wishes that I was on that stage myself. 

I wasn’t always like that. When I was a teenager, I listened to much softer music, mainly just Christian Contemporary Pop and Rock. You know, Michael W. Smith, Amy Grant and Petra. It’s funny. Most people listen to heavier music when they are younger but mellow out as they age. I think I am the opposite.

However, to the point…..

One thing that I really enjoy in music is when a band or artist pays tribute to another one with a cover song. My daughter and I went to a concert at the Vine Center in Lynchburg this past weekend and got a chance to see The Welshly Arms perform. I picked up their cd after the show only to find out that they do a cover of one of my favorite songs of all time.

Now, I definitely do not think this version is better than the original but it was decent enough and fun to listen to.

Yesterday, I stumbled across some more cover songs, some of them were solid while others not so much. The list site, http://www.list25.com, put out a list of their 25 favorite cover songs. While I do not completely agree with every song on the list (there are definitely better covers out there that didn’t make the list), I would say that this list is pretty solid.

So, if you are like me and enjoy a good cover song, check this list out. You can listen to the song right off the list as they have the youtube videos embedded on the site.

I hope you enjoy the list as much as I did. And, for Metallica fans, here’s one that didn’t make their list.

Hey. Drop me a line in the comments section. What is a cover song that you really enjoy that was not listed here?

3 thoughts on “Those 25 covers….

  1. Pingback: There’s no way that dude lived… | This Strange Life

  2. Pingback: Another favorite cover of mine | This Strange Life

  3. Pingback: I Hear You, Girl | This Strange Life

Leave a Reply

