Rogue One

I used to spend most of my weekends at the movie theater in Mt. Vernon, IL. Of course, that was back in my early twenties when I was irresponsible (I might still be) and you could actually watch a movie for less than twenty bucks.

Things have changed.

Elisa and I took the kids to see Rogue One last night at the mall theater in Lynchburg. By the time we paid for our tickets and bought a large popcorn and drink, we had spent $70 and were starting to feel a little bit depressed about the purchase. After nearly 1.5 million movie trailers and 20 minutes of actual movie viewing, that feeling changed.

What a great movie?

Without giving away any major spoilers, this film bridges the gap between Episode three and four and was, as I heard one person say as he left the theater last night, very satisfying.

Man, there are a couple of things I would love to talk about here but some of you might now have seen the movie yet. Okay, here’s one that I can discuss and it is probably the strongest point of this film in regards to the canonized Star Wars universe.

One of the strongest criticisms of the original Star Wars and the first Death Star was how glaring of a weakness the core of the weapon was. Many people have questioned why the Empire would build this super weapon with such a strong vulnerability. This weakness was addressed in Rogue One and the answer that was given is incredible.

I will not divulge any more. Get to your local theater and watch this film. I know, I know… It’s pretty expensive. However, if you are going to watch a movie at the theater (in the last 12 months, we have seen two Star Wars films and Finding Dory), something epic like Rogue One is what you want to see.

I have been a fan of the Star Wars franchise since I was a child and this film just added to my love for the Star Wars universe.

Check it out and then come back so we can discuss.

Also, click here, here and here to see some of my other Star Wars related posts.

 


Leave a Reply

