My Baby is Growing Up

I have a problem that I do not really know how to deal with. See, I have this little girl that just keeps getting older and more mature and I am not sure that I approve. Many of you might be able to relate with this. I feel like she should still be 3 or 4 but here she is knocking on double digits in age and now she makes cupcakes. 

That’s right, you heard me. She likes to bake. She got this cookbook for Christmas with all of these recipes for young, aspiring bakers. So, yesterday morning, we drove to Brookneal and picked up some baking supplies from the local Food Lion grocery store. After about 30 minutes of wandering the store, looking for all the items that we would need, we paid up and got back on the road for home.

I set my expectations pretty low. She was making them from scratch and I assumed that this would simply be a project. After all, it was her first time making anything, really. I didn’t supervise any of the processes outside of the use of the oven. I’m not quite ready to turn her loose with that and she’s still a bit afraid of it as well.

After the cupcakes were finished baking, I sat them on top of the stove and kind of forgot about them. Sydney still had to make her frosting (that was from scratch as well) and I left that to her. Yesterday was not super busy but I did have a few things to do (ironically enough, one of the was blogging about finding things to do other than watch tv) in the office. A while later, this chocolate masterpiece appeared before me.

cupcakes

WOW!

I was impressed. I mean, it wasn’t on the level of the award winning cupcakes from around the world. But, it was pretty stinking impressive for her first project. And, that brings me to my current depression. She needs me less and less all the time. I know, I still had to take her to the grocery store and run the oven for her. I am split. I definitely want her to grow up.

Elisa and I watched Ten Things I Hate About You recently. At the end of the movie, there is a conversation going on between one of the main characters and her father.

I don’t want to sit on the bench. Of course, the pressure is on me. I cannot just sit and watch her grow up. I am so grateful that God is creating a wonderful person right in from of me. However, I have to engage in life with her. I have to share my interests with her but also, share in her interests.

That’s it. I just don’t want to sit on the bench. Man, that cupcake was pretty good, though. Maybe she can learn how to make sushi.


2 thoughts on “My Baby is Growing Up

Leave a Reply

