Plans change

This past weekend, I was privileged to participate in the memorial service for, my uncle, Sam Byers. It was a blessing to be back with my family as we worked our way through the grieving process of losing a beloved family member. I made the trip out with my daughter who, surprisingly enough, handled 24 hours in the car with me pretty well. 

I posted yesterday about 52 destinations that a person might want to consider for vacation destinations. Elisa and I have had conversations about where we would like to take our own kids this year. This was not how I planned my first road trip of 2017 (not that I wouldn’t do it again if I had to) but it is what I received. It’s crazy how we all have plans about how we think things will go. My plan was to spend my first stretch of driving out of Virginia on a trip to Washington DC in the spring. In the summer, we plan to see New York City. That would be months before I would have to get back on the road again. Yet, here we were, this past weekend, on the road again.

It was so cold this weekend. The temperature was probably fitting for a funeral actually. Saying goodbye to a loved on is such a solemn event that it would seem odd to do it on a bright, shiny and warm day. There was a lot of snow in the mountains of West Virginia. As much as I hate snow (I think I have discussed this before), it was actually very beautiful. We moved to Virginia last spring and the snow was all gone. I have never seen the snow caps of the mountains before but they were on display this weekend.

My point in all of this is that plans change. I am a huge fan of routine. I like to know what I am going to be doing on each given day. Don’t mess with that. Don’t change my schedule. It makes me cranky and hard to live with. It is comforting to have a plan that I can rely on. However, life is strange. It’s very fragile and it will change on you when you are least expecting it. We have to be ready and willing to pick up and go when it’s necessary.

We’re back home now. I am back to my routine. Life is predictable again… for now.

 

 


5 thoughts on “Plans change

Leave a Reply

