Where are the years going?

I woke up this morning to my typical daily routine. Grab a t-shirt and head to the bathroom. This is followed by a trip to the office to check my email and facebook notifications. Nothing new…

As I walked by Sydney’s bed, I couldn’t help but notice how big she is getting. That got me to thinking about her age and her upcoming birthday. Then it hit me, and this isn’t the first time, that she is closer to her adult years than she is to her infancy. I don’t know what I think about this. Earlier this week, a friend of mine (Greg Thomas) created a facebook post about his daughter growing up. His daughter is closer to adulthood than mine and I can feel for him.

What is happening?

Can you relate?

geegs-and-bub

Photo provided by Abi Kerkhoff

Do you have children who are growing up right in front of your face and leaving you with the feeling that you are losing time?

Well, I have the answer for what ails you.

Spend the time that you have left with them. Don’t let a day pass that leaves you regretting how little you spent with them. A couple of nights ago, Sydney asked if we could have a sleepover in the living room which I typically try to avoid because our couch is impossible to sleep on. However, it had been quite a while since we had spent the night watching movies together so I conceded it to her.

We watched The Pacifier with Vin Diesel, which actually turned out to be a decent movie and then fell asleep a little after midnight. It was a simple thing really. I didn’t have to drive somewhere and spend a stupid amount of money to have this wonderful moment with my baby girl. All that was required was dragging a mattress down the hall and giving some of my time.

So, do whatever you can. Go to the library. Go to the park. Play in the yard. Listen to them when they talk to you. Your kids will be grown and out the door in the blink of an eye and it will leave you with a lifetime of what ifs……

6 thoughts on “Where are the years going?

  1. Pingback: Stop trying to be their friend | This Strange Life

  2. Pingback: Stop changing the rules | This Strange Life

  3. Pingback: Listen to what they are saying | This Strange Life

  4. Pingback: 5 Ways to ensure a better weekend | This Strange Life

  5. Pingback: Not All Change Is Easy | This Strange Life

  6. Pingback: That empty nest | This Strange Life

Leave a Reply

