Not All Change Is Easy

Some changes come easy for me. The decision to move was an easy change to make because I wanted to move. The decision to have children (though I was still a little reluctant about the timing) was an easy one to make because I have always wanted to have a family. The decision to marry Elisa was a no-brainer. Spend five minutes around her and you will understand completely.

In May of last year, I posted up some content about setting and keeping difficult goals. One of the goals that Elisa and I set for me upon moving out to Virginia was to lose 50 pounds over the course of the next year. Now, I shall insert a disclaimer here that my wife is concerned for my health and nothing more. I believe that with my whole heart. When I set the goal, I weighed 230 pounds. Guess how much I weight a year later. If you are thinking to yourself, “I bet that scoundrel hasn’t lost a single pound” then you are 100% correct. I still weight right at 230 pounds.

When I set the goal, I weighed 230 pounds. Guess how much I weight a year later. If you are thinking to yourself, “I bet that scoundrel hasn’t lost a single pound” then you are 100% correct. I still weight right at 230 pounds.

What happened?

15078735_10209543971213406_7680752939147309665_n

I didn’t keep up my end of the deal is what happened. See, some changes come easy for me. I decided to teach myself finances and I have increased my understanding of the financial world considerably but it was something that I enjoyed doing. I do not really enjoy working out. I definitely don’t enjoy it as much as I enjoy eating fat and sugar. My problem is that the part of me that wants to do better is often pushed aside by the part of me that wants to do as little work as possible. It’s easier for me to sit pat than it is for me to do something hard, even if I’m going to benefit from it.

Maybe you are in the same situation as I am. I would love to shed about 40 to 50 pounds of weight but I want it to happen while I’m asleep. That would be much easier than working out. However, I have been more active lately. I’ve been walking more and spending more time in the weight room on our campus. The warmer weather gives me more resolve to accomplish my goals. What I know for certain…. all of these other changes that I am making in my life are going to mean very little if I am not healthy enough to enjoy them. The life that I am attempting to create for my family will be bittersweet if I am not able to enjoy it with them. My kids are getting older with every passing day (thank you captain obvious) and I need to get this in check while they are still in my house.

Fat Daddy better gets to the gym.

Life is Strange. Live it Well.

3 thoughts on “Not All Change Is Easy

  1. Pingback: Find A Balance | This Strange Life

  2. Pingback: Crabtree Falls | This Strange Life

  3. Pingback: The Early Bird | This Strange Life

Leave a Reply

