A Birthday Date and Some Chili Peppers

Back around 1992, I was listening to a whole lot of Petra and Michael W. Smith. For those of you who might not be familiar, that was Christian music in the late 80’s / early 90’s and that was my life. I had little interest in secular music as it was filled with the devil and would probably cause an immediate drug addiction if I even looked at an image of a rock band. My cousin, Caleb, changed all of that for me.

I grew up in Louisville, IL in a house that was directly across the street from my grandmother’s house. Now, directly across the other street from her house was where my uncle Ronnie lived. I spent quite a bit of time at both locations and one afternoon, Caleb put a cassette (they were those things that played music before cd’s) in of a band called the Red Hot Chili Peppers. I was not really familiar with their music but they had been around enough at that point to have a Greatest Hits album and it was amazing.

I borrowed the tape from Caleb long enough to make a copy (please don’t arrest me, music police) and that marked the beginning of my appreciation for this band. My cousin passed away in his early twenties and every time I hear a song by RHCP, I think about him.

Fast forward…..

Elisa and I have been married now for eleven years and she is also an RHCP fan. We have been talking about seeing them live for as long as we’ve been married but the band does the majority of their shows on the coasts or overseas. Living in Illinois created an issue. However, we no longer live in Illinois. Being on the east coast created an opportunity for us to finally get to see one of our faves.

A few months back, I was picking up the boys from school and heard an ad on the radio for an RHCP concert in Washington DC and it just happened to be on April 12th which also just happens to be Elisa’s birthday and my brain started to make a creaking noise as a plans begin to form. (I’m pretty sure that is a run-on sentence but it’s my blog, so…) Over the past few months, tickets were purchased, babysitting was arranged, dog sitters were discovered and traveling plans were set in stone.

RHCP

We arrived in DC about an hour before the show began and grabbed a bite to eat at the Shake Shack. This is a little hamburger and shakes dive that’s located about a block from the Verizon Center. We had our dinner at a table outside of the restaurant and then made our way over to the show.

The opening act was a band called Baby Metal. The best way I can describe this band is this. Imagine taking three teenage girls from any Japanese animation and turning them into real people. Then, stick them in a pop band but have an extremely hard metal band playing behind them. If you have that picture in your mind, you are looking at Baby Metal. In all honesty, this is a pretty talented band. It was just a really odd combination and you couldn’t understand anything that was being said or sung from the stage.

However, the rest of the night was pure bliss. RHCP played for two hours and covered all of their major hits except Under the Bridge. I spent most of two hours watching Flea bounce around on stage. It amazes me that he is 54 years old and still has that much energy. At one point he walked across the stage on his hands. Such a great show. Such a great night.

Happy Birthday, baby.

Maybe next year we can catch Coldplay somewhere.

Life is Strange. Live it Well.

5 thoughts on “A Birthday Date and Some Chili Peppers

  1. Did you not know of Baby Metal before Zach?

    Two other things about this, my wife has been thinking of By the Way all day and we just played it before I saw this. A couple days ago at work I had Place in This world stuck in my head for the entire day.

    Like

    1. Yeah. I had never heard of Baby Metal before. They were actually pretty good but hard to listen to since I couldn’t understand anything the said.

      Gotta love Michael W. Smith though.

      Like

      1. Yeah, they can be hard to understand. They did a few shows with Judas Priest lead singer. It was rather funny, due to his voice.

        Like

Leave a Reply

