The Importance of Routine

One of the strongest tools for success in your daily life is the consistent use of a schedule. While some would find it cumbersome and restricting, the majority of society would agree that we function better when we have a schedule of some sort to follow. In fact, there is a multitude of articles online describing this very thing. 

Yesterday, I got the opportunity to read one of these articles on The Art of Manliness titled, Bookend Your Day: The Power of Morning and Evening Routines. Now, there is a TON of content to consume in this article and I definitely encourage you to head over there and read it in its entirety. However, I wanted to drop a couple of sections from the article here for you to check out as well.

First, is this video that Brett McKay posted that is essentially the entire article for people who do not like to read.

Second, here is McKay’s daily routine which lays out the importance of a morning and nighttime routine.

My Current Morning and Evening Routines

Here’s what my morning and evening routines look like right now. Maybe it will be useful to some of you. Maybe not.

Morning Routine

5:30 AM: Arise
Put on gym clothes, contacts, and stumble to kitchen
Drink a glass of ice cold water and protein shake
5:40 AM: Out the door for workout (Monday/Wednesday/Friday: Weights; Tuesday/Thursday: Interval Cardio; Saturday/Sunday: Walk)
6:40 AM: Return home and shower, brush teeth, etc.
6:55 AM: 20 minutes of meditation, prayer, and scripture study
7:15-ish AM: Review my goals and day’s schedule

Evening Routine

My goal is to have lights out at 11PM. With that as my deadline, here’s what I like to get done before then:

9:30 PM: Review day’s work, review goals (long term and short term), plan tomorrow’s schedule
10:00 PM: Get ready for bed; take vitamins.
10:15 PM: Write in journal
10:30 PM: Read a book
11:00 PM: Lights out.

Anyways, I hope that this article is helpful. I know there will come a day when my life is less busy but this is not that day. Schedule and routine are important for me because I have multiple things that I have to balance throughout the day and it keeps me on track. Let me know what you think in the comments section below. What does your daily routine look like?

2 thoughts on “The Importance of Routine

  1. Pingback: Time To Clean Again | This Strange Life

  2. Pingback: Nail Those Writing Skills Down | This Strange Life

Leave a Reply

