Need More Exposure?

In the last 14 months, over 6,000 people have wandered across this blog that you are currently looking at. This is pretty incredible to me as I didn’t expect to get many more visits than my mother and wife when I began. What amazes me even more, though, is that many of those visits have come from other countries, from which I know zero individuals. People are coming to read what I have to say. 

Or, at least they are clicking on my link. Who knows if it’s being read?

But, that is not the point. Or maybe it is…. Why does a person start a blog? Is it to get views or is it to be heard? Maybe it’s both. For me, I wanted to live outside of myself. And, I feel like I am doing that very thing.

vncckgzd6bi-sandis-helvigs

What about you? Are you living outside of yourself? You ask, “What does that even mean?” Well, here’s my best explanation. Are you connecting with people or are you just returning home from a job at the end of your day to prepare for the next one? Are you building new relationships with those around you or are you content with the one (yourself) that you already have?

Some of you might have taken to the world of blogging to make those connections. You have begun writing so that your thoughts are not lost in your own brain. Many of you are doing this without even knowing it. Maybe you don’t have your own blog but you facebook constantly. Your thoughts are getting out there. Your world is getting bigger every time you post something.

zx5uks3zc60-laura-aziz.jpg

I came across this post a few days ago that could be for you. Lucas Miller, from Social Media Today, provides us with 5 steps for generating more exposure through social media. For a more detailed description of this list, click on this link and read the article.

So, if you are putting yourself out there for the world to see but feel like your connections are not being made, here you go.

5 Way to Generate More Exposure for your Content Through Social Media

Invest in Your Headline

Invest in Visuals

Cater to Your Audience

Cater to the Platform

Invest in Exposure

You probably see a theme developed through these points. You have to invest in yourself. The majority of the world does not fall at your doorstep waiting to consume your every word. You have to go get them.

Life is Strange. Live it Well.

Leave a Reply

