You never stop learning.

Many people have this mindset that there is nothing left to learn after our formal education is over. All the training that we will ever need for life was crammed into the first 18 to 24 years of our lives. From that point on, it’s easy sailing. However, anyone who actually participates actively in life knows better than this. We are always learning and constantly needing to pick up new tools. This is not just a job thing. It is a life thing.

In six more weeks, I will be done with grad school. I will have completed my Master of Arts in Executive Leadership from Liberty University and you had better believe that I am counting down the days. For those of you who have been following along with me on this blog, I have documented the difficulties of a higher education, particularly at this stage in my life. The increase in the degree of difficulty between under-graduate classes and graduate courses was more than I anticipated. My brain feels like that egg in the old anti-drug commercials of the late 80’s / early 90’s, minus the drugs.

I spend about 4 or 5 hours a day either reading textbooks or writing papers. But, all of that will end in 40 more days.

Or will it?

Learning is a life long adventure. It does not end the moment you get that paper that you put on the wall behind your desk. And, if you believe that it does, you will be shutting doors of opportunity for the rest of your life.

Maybe you finished up your education with the intention of one particular career being your life focus. You didn’t plan on changing jobs let alone career paths so the education that you took with you is sufficient. However, your life plans will probably change before your days are done. Most of us experience that. I have spent time in fast food, factory work, warehousing, retail, glass repair, pastoring and now residential care. My point in all of this is that plans change.

I am a huge fan of routine. I like to know what I am going to be doing on each given day. Don’t mess with that. Don’t change my schedule. It makes me cranky and hard to live with. It is comforting to have a plan that I can rely on. You probably feel this way as well but you know that it doesn’t work that way. The best course of action is to plan ahead.

What skill sets could you stand to improve on?

Maybe you want to become more computer efficient. Lynda.com offers a course on Excel spreadsheets that looks very interesting. Perhaps you’re interested in gaining a better understanding of the tax code and what you can claim come tax time. Maybe you are like me and you want to become a little more financially literate so you can manage your finances a little better. These things require time to learn and master.

So, maybe you’re done with college. Hopefully, you’re not done learning.

Life is Strange. Live it Well.

Leave a Reply

