They’re not getting any younger

Do you have children who are growing up right in front of your face and leaving you with the feeling that you are losing time? Well, I have the answer for what ails you. Spend the time that you have left with them. Don’t let a day pass that leaves you regretting how little you spent with your children.

Now, don’t confuse this statement with the idea of giving them everythiny that they want. That’s not my point at all and that would be absolutely terrible. For that matter, your children will probably benefit even less from that than if you simply ignored them most of the time. Don’t feed their entitlements but feed their desire for connection instead.

20525619_10212049407207740_5962525007442600_n

Last night, Sydney wanted me to spend some time coloring with her. I was sitting in front of my laptop, playing some video games and my first reaction was “Crap, how do I get out of this?” Then it hit me, like it often does, that there will come a day when she won’t ask to do this anymore and I will want it back then.

So, I shut the computer off and we got the crayons out. You know what, I had a lot of fun coloring with her and I get to keep that memory forever now.

You know, I write about this quite a bit and some of you might be thinking, “Hey, we get it. Move on to another topic.” But guys (and gals), I don’t think we can really spend enough time discussing what we’re doing with our children. Maybe you have trouble making time for it. After all, life is busy as crap (no sarcasm here) and we all have things to do. However, there really isn’t anything that is more important than this. You will have all kinds of time when your kids are adults to fit the rest of this stuff into. This time in your life should belong to them. Write it into your schedule if you have to but make it happen.

Life is Strange. Live it Well.

One thought on “They’re not getting any younger

Leave a Reply

